fun with podcasts

I really enjoy listening to podcasts on my iPod, especially while driving, cleaning the house, and exercising. In fact, I find that podcasts help me tune out the drudgery of exercise better than music helps motivate me through it.

The order is kind of random, but here are some of my favorites.

My Favorite Podcasts

Stuff You Missed in History Class: The first one I heard was about the Gollum of Prague. What a weird story. I was hooked.

Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History: In-depth looks at historical events. I love this guy; he really draws you into the time period and tries to imagine what the events were like for the people living through them. It’s fascinating stuff.

Common Sense with Dan Carlin: Dan Carlin’s political podcast. He’s a true independent—not a Republican, Democrat, or Libertarian. He’s a very refreshing non-partisan voice.

The Nutrition Diva: Awesome nutrition podcast with well-researched information based on scientific evidence. It’s from the Quick and Dirty Tips series and each one is under 10 minutes long.

All Songs Considered: I get a lot of good music recommendations from the NPR Music crowd.

Live Concerts from All Songs Considered: I don’t normally listen to the regular concerts, but I really like the Tiny Desk Concerts (which you can see here). Bob Boilen has bands play a few songs at his desk in his office.

The Clark Howard Show: Lots of good practical information about money from a super nice nerdy consumer advocate. Plus, he is possibly my soul mate. (I mean, John’s a nice guy and all, but he just doesn’t get giddy about Roth IRAs and bargain hunting!) He podcasts an hour of his 3-hour radio show every day.

The Dave Ramsey Show: Highly energetic and motivational anti-debt “how to win with money” propaganda. He podcasts an hour of his 3-hour radio show daily. You can also listen to the full shows on his website.

The Adam Carolla Podcast: Yea, the guy from Loveline. After his morning radio show was canceled (due the the station changing formats), Adam started doing a podcast, and it quickly became one of the top podcasts on iTunes. Lots of fun guests.

Got any good ones to add?

2 thoughts on “fun with podcasts

Leave a Reply

