homemade laundry detergent

I recently discovered a recipe for homemade laundry soap. Seemed easy and cheap, so I figured I’d try it.

Here’s what I bought
55 oz box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda – $2.79
4 lb 12 oz box of 20 Mule Team Borax – $2.98
10 pack of Ivory soap (4.5 oz bars) – $3.76

Total: $9.53 ($10.32 with tax)

Got the Borax and soap at Wal-Mart and the Super Washing Soda at a grocery store (Fry’s) since I couldn’t find it at Wal-Mart.

Here’s what I did
Shaved a bar of soap into a bowl with my cheese grater.
Dumped in 1/2 cup of borax.
Dumped in 1/2 cup of washing soda.
Mixed thoroughly with my hand.

laundrysoap1

laundrysoap3

laundrysoap4

That’s it. I am storing it in a ziploc bag but will move it to an empty yogurt container once we eat all the yogurt. I assume it’ll be cheaper than my regular detergent because the ingredients were so cheap, but I’m not sure how to figure it out. I can price my normal detergent next time I’m at Costco and figure out how much it costs per load (and divide by 3 since I only use about 1/3 of a scoop for each load). But I’m not really sure how to figure the price-per-load for the homemade stuff. Matt from Debt Free Adventure estimates the price-per-load in his post, but his ingredients cost more than mine.

Now I just have to try it. I’ll probably do a load of laundry a few days from now.

5 thoughts on “homemade laundry detergent

  1. this reminds me that i’m low on that pricey, boutique-y, eco-friendly, aromatherapy, comes in a swanky bottle, laundry soap i like … 😉

    seriously, you’re way impressive with your commitment and ingenuity.

  2. Hi Cara,

    I trust you will be very impressed with this laundry detergent. My wife & I use 1-2 tablespoons depending on how large/soiled the load, but we mostly just use 1.

    Another thing to note, this detergent is excellent for HE front-load washers because it is low suds.

    Enjoy! I’m glad you found the recipe useful.

Leave a Reply

