cara does her laundry

I just hand-washed a shirt!

Okay, it’s not that big of a deal. But here’s the story. My washing machine kills black clothing, so I’ve stopped buying black shirts. It sucks because a black shirt goes with anything! This weekend I broke down and bought a black shirt I liked, but I promised myself it would never go into my washer. So today I washed it in the sink. I’m normally kind of lazy, so I’m proud of myself for just doing something instead of letting it pile up. I’m getting really tired of my laziness. Plus, hand-washing clothing is something I should be more willing to do if I want to be a really low-maintenance traveler.

While John is gone this week, I’m trying to get as many errands done as possible–stuff I’ve been meaning to do. Like find a tailor and have a pair of pants hemmed. Anyone know a good tailor/alterations place in Phoenix?

5 thoughts on “cara does her laundry

  1. i’m confused about how your washer has a vendetta against black shirts?

    and if i’m knitting you a blue sweater, you’re gonna have to hand wash it because machine washable yarn is itchy and icky 😉

    1. Trust me, the washer hates black shirts. There’s a problem with it, we know what it is, and we need to buy a new one. Just haven’t gotten around to it.

  2. I usually wear a new black shirt at least three to four times before I wash it. How stinky was your shirt to inspire the hand washing lol?

Leave a Reply

