sweet potato fries

Tonight I made myself some sweet potato fries for dinner. I got this recipe from the book Saving Dinner the Vegetarian Way. (I highly recommend the Saving Dinner series for lots of practical recipes; start with the original one with the yellow cover.) It’s an easy snack or side. When John’s not home, I sometimes just make a whole meal of sweet potato fries.

My paraphrase of how to make sweet potato fries:
Ingredients:
A sweet potato
Olive oil (not virgin) – I actually use canola oil
Cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Cut the potato into fry-shaped pieces. Put in a bowl and drizzle olive oil over them until they shine a bit (don’t drench them). Sprinkle cinnamon over them and mix.
Lay cut potatoes out on a cookie sheet. Bake 20 minutes or until they start to turn brownish. Pull from oven, flip them over with a spatula, cook another 10 – 20 minutes or until they’re brown. (And it depends how cooked you want them…sample one to see if they’re done to your liking.)

You can also use regular potatoes for regular oven fries and season with salt and pepper.

4 thoughts on “sweet potato fries

  1. mmmmmm!

    now i’m making sweet potato fries for dinner. have you tried messing with your seasonings? i like mine with a little salt, pepper and cayenne. Chris likes his with cinnamon and sugar. next time i think i’m going to try adding rosemary.

    thanks for the cookbook tip. i’ll check it out!

    1. I got that cookbook recommendation from Steve and Jess originally.

      No, I haven’t messed with seasonings much. I like sweet potato fries to be sweet, so cinnamon is good. (And no ketchup!!) For regular fries, I think cayenne would be fun! I’ll have to try that.

Leave a Reply

