cara goes to church

Today I went to church for probably the 3rd time in over a year. When our church closed its doors a while back, my husband John and I realized we were facing a daunting task: finding a church for people who don’t like church.

Since I was awake anyway this morning, I decided to head over to a local church we wanted to visit. I almost turned around and went back home when I pulled into the parking lot and saw all the dresses and khakis. It might sound petty to immediately judge a church because people dress up for services. But I think it cuts to the heart of what I believe church should be.

A Christian church is simply a community of Christ followers who meet regularly to encourage each other, build each other up, and learn more about their faith together. It should be an extension of the individual’s life. It should be like getting together with friends for coffee. I do not understand the desire to make it into something ceremonious, something different from everyday life. I feel like I should show up for church exactly how I show up to hang out with my friends. I’m not sure I’m explaining this well, but there you go.

7 thoughts on “cara goes to church

  1. Cara I agree. I liked when church was about making friends and doing community activities. My wife’s family is Orthodox Christian, and I can see the respect associated with dressing up for church, but I guess I feel uncomfortable when I’m dressed up in any situation. I’m a T-shirt and jeans guy that has yet to find a T-shirt and jeans church 🙂

    1. “I guess I feel uncomfortable when I’m dressed up in any situation”

      That was me most of my life, but now I actually kind of enjoy dressing up on occasion. In fact, church is a great opportunity to practice being more girly since I was such a tomboy most of my life. But I see church as an extension of my everyday life, not as a special occasion where things should be different than any other day. I’m not just complaining about wearing a skirt, I swear… 🙂

  2. I totally understand Cara and kudos for going on your own I always feel uneasy going to a new church by myself. So what did you think of it?

    1. I actually got there a little late, which is definitely the way to go when you’re alone. No awkward small talk or awkward sitting there pretending you don’t care no one is talking to you. 🙂

    1. Didn’t like the church – too formal. I didn’t think it was what I was looking for when I glanced at their website, but I figured interacting with my faith in some way was probably better than what I’ve been doing lately, which is nothing. :-/

  3. I think you know with a church right away, so I don’t think you were being judgmental at all. The informal atmosphere of a church is very comforting, especially when venturing out by yourself. I hope you find what you are looking for.

Leave a Reply

