a revolutionary purchase, or a very large door stopper

I bought a pressure canner recently. It sits in its box in my living room while I gape at the instruction manual, not knowing where to start. What compelled me to do this?

Of course I blame my friend Karri, who told me you are able to can chicken.

I guess there’s no reason you couldn’t can meat, but I’d just never thought about it before. I sampled her canned chicken, canned pork, and canned pinto beans: tasty! What’s cool about canning meat and beans is that the canning process cooks them. As soon as I learned this, I decided that I must can. For the most part, I hate cooking chicken. And the chicken she cans is much better tasting and more tender than the chicken I cook.

Karri let me can chicken, pork, and pinto beans at her house once. I then had John taste my canned goods, and he liked them. So that’s how a canner recently arrived in the mail from Amazon.com.

One thought on “a revolutionary purchase, or a very large door stopper

Leave a Reply

